Complete List of Databases (A-Z)
Below are “databases” that our library subscribes to. They contain loads of information not necessarily found through the Internet. You’ll need your library card to log into most of these databases.
Academic Search Elite – Multi-disciplinary database with full text articles for more than 4,500 scholarly journals.
Atlas of Canada – Explore a variety of different types of maps, including topographic, environment, history, economic, and more.
Automate – Powered by the automotive experts at MOTOR, AutoMate provides the most accurate, authoritative and up-to-date service and repair information for thousands of domestic and imported vehicles. All content comes from the Original Equipment Manufacturers (OEM) and includes step-by-step repair information, diagrams, maintenance schedules, parts and labor estimates, service bulletins and recalls.
BC Books online – Discover BC Books Online, the most comprehensive, current, and easy-to-use database of books and ebooks published in BC.
BC Laws – Free public access to the Statutes & Regulations of B.C.
British Columbia Codes (in Library Use Only) – Includes the current BC Building Code (including Plumbing Services) and the BC Fire Code.
British Columbia Statistics – Statistics on population, business, the economy, labour and society. From BCStats, the central statistical agency of the Province of British Columbia.
Access 2006 Census full (31 page) profiles or any item with a “key” icon beside it is available here. (Note: Remote access is permitted if your library can provide authentication.)
Business Source Premier [EBSCO] – Includes more than 2,000 business journals covering topics such as marketing, management, accounting and finance, as well as information about specific trades, industries and professions. Additional content includes market research reports, industry reports, country reports, company profiles and SWOT (Strengths, Weaknesses, Opportunities, and Threats) analyses. Video Tutorial [4:40 minutes]
Business Plan Handbooks – A compilation of business plans developed by small businesses throughout North America. Access is made possible by the Small Business Accelerator at the Irving K. Barber Learning Centre at UBC with financial support from the Sutherland Foundation.
Canadiana – The collections at Canadiana are continually expanding and include many different types of content including books, journals, newspapers, government documents, photographs, maps, post cards, sheet music, audio and video broadcasts.
Canadian Encyclopedia – A comprehensive information source about Canada and Canadians, for students, the general public and scholars. Includes articles written by experts, as well as web links and multimedia clips. No library card is required to access these resources on the Internet.
Canadian Newsstream [ProQuest] – Full-text access to over 200 Canadian newspapers, including The Globe and Mail, The Vancouver Sun and many local BC papers. Coverage back to the 1970s and 1980s for some newspapers.
Clicklaw – An Internet subject guide to authoritative legal resources in BC and Canada. Developed by the Legal Services Society of BC and now maintained by the BC Courthouse Library Society. No library card is required to access this resource on the Internet.
Consumer Health Complete [EBSCO] – Health information for the general public, patients and health professionals. Includes mainstream medical information and holistic/alternative health information from popular and professional magazines, journals, reference books and reports. Also includes the Lexi-PAL Drug Guide, with up-to-date information on medications, natural products and vaccines available in the U.S. Video Tutorial [5 minuntes]
Consumer Reports – One of the most trusted resources for information on consumer products.
Consumer Reports Health.org – Provides extensive general health information, but requires a subscription for further information on treatments.
Encyclopaedia Universalis – is a French-language general encyclopedia published by Encyclopædia Britannica, Inc. The articles of theEncyclopædia Universalis are aimed at educated adult readers, and written by a staff of full-time editors and expert contributors. It is widely considered to be the most scholarly of French-language encyclopedias.
Explora Canada – Information for students of all ages on a wide variety of topics, from history and current events to science and technology. Search a variety of sources such as magazines, encyclopedias, primary source documents and more.
Explora Primary Schools – A research interface for K-5. Simple search that quickly delivers relevant results including articles, essays, and primary source documents to help students feel successful in their research. Easy-to-browse categories organized by popular topic to give students research ideas. Topic overviews that provide students with a starting point for research.
Grant Connect – a searchable database with detailed information on all Canadian grantmaking foundations, hundreds of corporate community investment programs, government funding programs as well as American foundations that fund Canadian charities. Patrons can access the database from any of our public internet computers or by using your own equipment from within the library ONLY, at-home access is not available.
GreenFile [EBSCO] – Provides information related to all aspects of human impact on the environment, from global warming to recycling to alternate fuel sources and more. Identifies or provides full-text access to scholarly, government and general-interest periodicals and reports.
IndieFlix – Streaming films are always available with your library card. IndieFlix offers over 7,000 shorts, features, documentaries, classic TV shows and Web series from 85 countries. Available on all Internet-enabled computers, tablets (including iPad and Android), smart phones through the Web browser, and on Roku and Xbox.
Khan Academy – “Learn almost anything for free.” 3300 videos explain many subjects.
KnowBC Online (In-Library use only) – Includes the following resources:
- Encyclopedia of British Columbia – With more than 4,000 entries and 1,500 accompanying photographs, maps, charts and tables, as well as sound and video clips.
- Marine Life of the Pacific Northwest – A Photographic Encyclopedia of Invertebrates, Seaweeds and Selected Fishes.
- The Encyclopedia of Raincoast Place Names – A Complete Reference to Coastal British Columbia
- Far West – The Story of British Columbia
- Raincoast Chronicles 20 – Lilies and Fireweed: Frontier Women of British Columbia.
- Where Mountains Meet the Sea – A History of Coastal BC
Library To Go – Download and listen to best selling and classic audio books 24/7 on your PC, laptop, PDA or MP3 player at home, in the office or anywhere in the world. It’s free, all you need is your library card.
Lynda.com – Online education database offering over 5,000 video courses by top experts in many fields including web design, business/marketing, software development, photography, video/music/audio editing, 3D animation, graphic design and more. This database requires registration with a valid Squamish Library card and PIN and a valid email address.
Mango – Learn a language with Mango! Use on your computer or mobile device to learn Arabic, Dari, Farsi, French, German, Greek, Hebrew, Hindi, Irish, Italian, Japanese, Korean, Mandarin, Pashto, Portuguese (Brazilian), Russian, Spanish, Tagalog, Thai, Turkish, Urdu, Vietnamese, or to learn English in your home language.
MasterFile Premiere – General reference full-text articles from hundreds of books, encyclopedias, and magazines. Includes popular magazines such as Maclean’s, New Yorker.
MedLine Plus – Consumer friendly health information from the National Library of Medicine. Includes directories, a medical encyclopedia, medical dictionary, tutorials on common conditions, tests, and treatments, information on prescription and nonprescription drugs, and links to clinical trials. Health information is available in over 40 languages.
NoveList [EBSCO] – Looking for a good novel? Want to find book reviews? Desperate to find other authors that are similar to your favourite? Check out NoveList, a database of fiction books and authors, recommended reading lists, book discussion ideas and book reviews for all ages.
NoveList K-8 – Discover the fiction titles that are popular with young readers.
RBdigital – A collection of more than 4,000 downloadable audiobooks from Recorded Books, including 100 Canadian titles from Maple Leaf Audio. These audiobooks are all simultaneous use, with no holds or waitlists. Download titles to your home computer, or to a mobile device using the RBdigital app.
Points to the Past – Searchable primary source material: maps, photos, newspapers, manuscripts, pamphlets, portraits, sermons, poems, and more. For research, teaching and learning.
Royal BC Museum Learning Portal – Is a window into its collections that kids and adult learners can crack open no matter where they live in the province. It is a dynamic and intuitive website, designed to appeal to the different ways students of all ages choose to learn, featuring video content, audio recordings, fascinating images and compelling stories and articles. It doesn’t matter if a student is a visual learner, someone who wears headphones 24/7 or a lover of the written word – the Learning Portal offers plenty of ways to connect to BC’s human history and natural history.
Salem Health – Find health information on diseases and disorders with both Western medicine treatment and complementary/alternative treatment information. All alternative/complementary treatments cite medical studies as evidence of effectiveness.
Small Engine Repair Reference Center (SERRC) – contains the full set of small engine repair manuals from Clymer (http://www.clymer.com/). These manuals contain thousands of accurate and concise step-by-step maintenance and repair instructions for hundreds of small engine machines and their supporting components. Routine maintenance, such as tune-ups and brake service, as well as more extensive repairs involving engine transmission disassembly are covered. Engines types include: motorcycles, ATVs, personal water craft, snowmobiles, lawn mowers, tractors, snow blowers, generators, and more. Detailed and user-friendly content is provided in high-quality PDF files. Many documents contain photos and detailed illustrations to visually support step-by-step procedures.
TechBoomers – tutorials on the most popular and useful websites on the Internet, from social networks and dating sites to everyday tools for getting directions and knowing what the weather’s going to be like. You can even learn how to listen to music, watch videos, and have phone calls right on your computer through the power of the Internet! Plus, we have special resources dedicated to 50+ adults.
Teen Health & Wellness database – Real life – real answers.
TeenBookCloud – TeenBookCloud is an online collection of ebooks and read-along chapter books, graphic novels, educational videos, and audio books! All books are available with unlimited access, all the time, from any device with an internet connection.
TumbleBook Library – TumbleBooks is a collection of animated, talking picture books with interactive puzzles and games. All books are available with unlimited access, all the time, from any device with an internet connection.HAPPY TUMBLING!
Vehicle Safety and Inspection Standards Online (In Library Use Only) Current vehicle safety and inspection standards and related BC legislation.
The World Bank – Data – The Data Catalogue provides download access to over 2,000 indicators from World Bank data sources.
World Book Encyclopedia – All of these products are available for your use:
- World Book Online Info Finder. Video Tutorial [22:04 minutes]
- World Book Online Reference Center. Video Tutorial [15:52 minutes]
- World Book Online For Kids. Video Tutorial [13:43 minutes]
- L ‘Encyclopédie Découverte. Video Tutorial [4:45 minutes]
- Early World of Learning. Video Tutorial [8:15 minutes]
- World Book Discover. Video Tutorial [11:28 minutes]